Intense Field Driving

Exited work two hours early and had time for a great drive!  It was a warm 80 degrees when we left home but dropped to a comfortable 73 for our return trip.  I could have gone on and on but this drive was as especially hard on Galahad.  It’s the first time I have seen him sweated up and truly exhausted when we arrived home.  I even let the boys take a short cut thru our wheat field instead of going all the way around it as I had planned for the return trip.  Luc told me that Galahad was too tired to go all the way and the house was just over that next hill.  Donkey Logic!

 Now let me tell you about our drive.  We left the farm going through our wheat field and into the hay field, then up a steep bank to the road.  Then we drove thru Day Canyon and into a wheat field entrance long before we arrived at the crossroads.  We traveled that field until it connected with a larger one.  Jim sez there are three different outfits who farm this area, I believe it as I could see the assorted combine tracks in the ground, the boys like to walk in the ones that have dual tires.  As we entered the larger field we turned back towards Day Canyon then drove and drove until I could see the tall Popular Trees in the bottom of Day Canyon that Susan and I had driven past when we drove the south side of the canyon.  I could see where Cottonwood Canyon starts its trek to the north out of Day Canyon which runs east and west… this was very interesting.  I could look back and see the gravel road we travel in and out of Day Canyon from this vantage point and several familiar vistas only I was looking at them from a completely new angle.  We spent well over an hour going up and down hills avoiding those too steep to farm and around rocky scab patches.  Some of the wheat stubble left by the combines was chest high on the boys this was the tallest stubble and steepest hills we had ever driven in.  How these two canyons connect was really intriguing to me as was the layout of this entire piece of property.

 On our return trip we entered our hay patch and exited the wheat field down some steeper banks, we’re getting pretty confident about where we can go these days.  

Leave a Reply

